REBECCA NORRIS WEBB,  Mute Swan , 2016 (from the series   Brooklyn: The City Within  )

REBECCA NORRIS WEBB, Mute Swan, 2016 (from the series Brooklyn: The City Within)



Brookyn: The City Within

Memory City

My Dakota

Violet Isle: A Duet of Photographs from Cuba

The Glass Between Us

REBECCA NORRIS WEBB (American, b. 1956)

Originally a poet, Rebecca Norris Webb often interweaves her text and photographs in her six books, most notably with her monograph, My Dakota, an elegy for her brother who died unexpectedly, with a solo exhibition of the work at The Cleveland Museum of Art (2015), among other venues.

Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, National Geographic, and is in numerous museum collections, including the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, the Cleveland Museum of Art, the George Eastman Museum, and many others.

Rebecca’s seventh book, Brooklyn: The City Within (with Alex Webb) will be published by Aperture in fall 2019.




Selected Collections:

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Massachusetts
The Cleveland Museum of Art, Ohio
Portland Museum of Art, Oregon
Santa Barbara Museum of Art, California
George Eastman Museum, Rochester, New York
North Dakota Museum of Art, Grand Forks, North Dakota
Griffin Museum of Photography, Winchester, Massachusetts
Provincetown Art Association and Museum, Provincetown, Massachusetts
Zucchi Museum, Milan, Italy
Fototeca, National Photography Archive, Havana, Cuba
Dahl Arts Center, Rapid City, South Dakota
JGS Collection, New York, NY
Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston, Texas
Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Cassilhaus Collection, Durham, North Carolina

Selected Monographs:

Brooklyn: The City Within, (2019)

Slant Rhymes, 2017

Alex Webb and Rebecca Norris Webb on Street Photography and the Poetic Image, 2014

Memory City, 2014

My Dakota, 2012

Violet Isle: A Duet of Photographs from Cuba, 2009

The Glass Between Us, 2006